Bad Connection

I feel myself missing him again. Wanting to see him even though I said I wasn’t sure I loved him anymore.

“OK babe.”

Except the last word doesn’t come out. I don’t allow it to.

“Sure babe. You too.”

I wish I’d never gotten myself into this habit. What was so wrong with calling him by his name?

“OK.”

“Sure.”

“You too.”

Formality

He doesn’t seem to notice.

“Hello.”

“Yes. I can hear you.”

“I’m listening. Go ahead.”

“No. I don’t have anything to say.”

Did I ever have anything to say? I stay on the phone in silence. I’m thankful for the bad connection. I don’t mind the call being lost.

When the phone rings again, and I see his picture, something in me feels disappointment.

Leave a Reply

