A Half-promise

I became a fool once again;
Succumbing to someone else’s words,
Knowing that my stance was valid,
Accurate.
Anxiety –
I allowed it
To seep its way into me,
To unfold its tendrils
And make itself at home
In my mind.

My mind.

The one that I half-promised
I would control.
The one I said I wouldn’t allow
To be led or overtaken
By the spirit of others
And their words, or opinions
Voiced only because of
Their lack of consideration –

A lack I should understand
And forgive,
As I too have been,
And continue to be,
Terribly lacking.

But why must I yield?
Why do I always yield
To voices stronger than mine,
Even when those voices are wrong?

Leave a Reply

