Immaturity: A Coping Method?

I’ve watched a lot of Korean dramas. Most of them have been romantic comedies. Over time, I have noticed several trends among plot lines and lead characters. One thing I have always disliked is that the male leads usually behave immaturely when they’ve been hurt and, in so doing, hurt the female leads. I always get upset with them, thinking that they should behave in a more mature manner since they are grown men. I always think they allow themselves to recede too much into childhood when they commit hurtful acts, or say hurtful things, because something didn’t go their way, or because they got their pride hurt a little.

Now that I’ve written all this out, I realise my situation isn’t really the same, but today I found I disliked myself a little because I was refraining from doing something because of my hurt feelings. I thought that I was behaving immaturely, and I didn’t like it. I’m trying to avoid someone because I’ve been hurt by that person. I was hurt by that person because that person was first hurt by me, though not intentionally. That person can’t be avoided entirely though, as people who are very important to me are connected to that person very strongly. It is not my intention to ignore or avoid those people.

In the end I guess it comes down to my ability to handle my hurt and heal myself. I don’t know how good I am at things like that. It looks like I’m going to get a lot of practice though. I think I’m going to get hurt a few more times. Life seems to be like that.

SorayaJan. Fighting!!!*

 

*A Korean expression meant to encourage the hearer.

Leave a Reply

