Well Isn’t This Funny?

Lately I’ve been thinking about what I would take with me if I had to be stuck on an island and could only bring or have three things with me. It’s an old question I’ve heard several times but have never seriously considered. Sometimes the question doesn’t ask what three things, it asks what three foods. I’ve concluded firmly that someway, somehow, I would have to have fried plantains with me on that island. No doubt about it. Fried plantains must be there. I’ve been thinking about this a lot, trying to carefully and thoughtfully compile my list of things or foods so that I could write a blog post about it. I thought it funny then that this morning the daily prompt asks what things I would send someone else to an island with, that someone else being my best friend. The only difference is that here I’m asked for five things. Fine.

  • If my best friend were to be stranded on a desert island with only five things that I were to give her, one of them would be a book. I know she doesn’t like to read a lot, but I do. Granted, I read a lot less now than I used to, but I still think reading is a good thing and I admire people who engage in it often. It’s a hobby I think is great to have. I’d give her a book; a really good one that would her hold her in place and keep her eyes on its pages until there wasn’t one left. I’d give my friend a book.
  • The second thing I’d send her with would be a working radio or some other music playing device. There is no way I would send my best friend to an island without any music. She loves it. I love it. It’s a must that she have it with her.
  • I don’t know why I’m only thinking of this now since it is something that we all need to live, but food. I’d give her food. Lots of it. She needs it doesn’t she? People need to eat. This would be a collaborative effort because I would need her input when considering particularly what foods to give her. I already have some in mind, but I’m sure there are more that she’d want. I would definitely give her eggs, franks, and plantains. She likes eating those at night. I think hot chocolate mixes would be in there too. She drinks that with the eggs, franks, and plantains. Chicken too, and rice. And festival.
  • A bed. Or a mattress. Or a really comfortable sleeping bag. I don’t know what this island will be like, but I would like her to be able to sleep comfortably there. A bed then, or a mattress, or a big, cushioned lounge chair, or a really thick and comfortable sleeping bag.
  • Water. She would need water. Clean water. I’d give my friend water.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Someone Else’s Island.”

Leave a Reply

