“You’re Wrong Bitch” – Messages from the Bible

Ecclesiastes is a nice book. I listened to it several times once and then went around saying “all is vanity!” I thought that was funny. I thought it was true. Everything will soon die or degenerate in some way, and there is nothing we can do about that.

I was working in the stacks (where the books in the library are) the other day and two girls were sitting at a small table. They were right behind me and they were speaking softly, but I could hear everything they were saying. My interest peaked when I heard one girl say that she doesn’t think she’s going to start thinking about God until something bad happens to her. The other girl joined in on the “something bad” part. I thought that was interesting. A lot of people think like that. A lot of people are like that.

The first girl mentioned a picture a friend posted on a social site. A verse from Ecclesiastes was in it. The one that says we should praise the Lord in our youth and not wait until we’re old and have no more pleasure in life. I remembered that verse. The elders in the church used it a lot to talk to the young people. The first girl kept talking. She said she was thinking of living her life the way she wanted to because it was hers and she was young. But then that verse was like, “you’re wrong bitch”. The second girl laughed, “I don’t think that’s what the Bible said.”

 

Leave a Reply

