Teacher

I learn from you
When you tell me to speak
And then refuse to listen
To what I say.

I learn from you
When you tell me I’m grown
And then treat me
Like I just learned to walk.

I learn from you
When you tell me I’m smart
And then say I behave
Like an idiot.

I learn from you
When you tell me to be strong
And then say I should
Just keep my head down
And be humble.

I learn from you
When you talk to me,
When you walk away,
When you don’t say anything.

I learn from you
And wonder what you
Are trying to teach me.

2 thoughts on “Teacher”

Leave a Reply

