Just Because

Just because I smiled at him,
And he smiled back at me.

Just because he asked to meet,
And I agreed.

Just because I laughed.
He really was funny.

Just because he met my mom
And called her mummy.

Just because he asked me to marry
And I said yes.

Just because my dad liked him
And thought he was the best.

Just because we had two children,
Like married people do.

Just because I wasn’t the only one
Hearing I love you.

Just because I was tired
Of covering up my bruises.

Just because I didn’t want to hear
Any more excuses.

Just because I had two children
Didn’t mean that I would stay.

Just because he was my first love
Didn’t mean he should take my life away.

Leave a Reply

