Unlike Mother

Reaching Venus

I spend my life walking on broken glass;
The shattered remains of your highly unjustified expectations.
Behind I leave pieces of who I truly am
Because your expectations do not fit me
The way the glass slipper fits the foot of a Cinderella.
I am no princess because I cannot be what you want me to be.

 Every day my life slips away
Because you think the world stops for you.
Your egocentrism hurts like the spindle of a spinning wheel
In which case I am Aurora stopping my life for you.
I am no princess because I will no longer wait.

 And I pretend I am ok with the beast you’ve become
Because, like Belle
I hold onto that last glimmer of hope
That everything will turn out ok.
I am no princess because I have run out of hope.

 You steal away who I truly am
And I…

View original post 168 more words

Leave a Reply

