There are words sometimes
That cross my mind
But never make it out alive.

Speaking the thoughts
That occupy my heart
Ain’t always best
And I’ve learned that
If nothing else.

People ask for honesty
And they promise me
That they won’t get upset.
They will understand.

Then I break them free
And I wait and see,
But the results
Are not the ones
I was told to expect.
Sure I’ve seen nothing yet
But I’m okay
I don’t want to,
I’ll just never trust
Your words again.

Next time you tell me
Speak freely,
I’ll just pretend to be
Your cutesy little puppet.
Come on, hold up the strings.

Leave a Reply

