FAD

Fad.
Never had any.
Never knew any.
We all just were.

Playing in the streets
Until more people moved in,
Then each other’s yards
Until late.

When I got old enough
To realize,
There wasn’t anything
I could do.

I had to be happy
With what I had.
There was nothing
More my parents could give me.

I didn’t ask them to.

Never saw those kids
Outside of school anyway,
And they never saw me.
Period.

Now I can try,
But I don’t try hard.
What is called fashion
Has always looked foolish
To me anyway.

But I like some of it.
Just some.
Not enough to go crazy.

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/20/daily-prompt-new-sensation/

7 thoughts on “FAD”

Leave a Reply

