Society

I looked rich
To the girl across the street
Behind us.
She and her family
Sure looked poor
To us.

The lady across the street
Beside us
Looked rich to me.
Her house had air conditioning,
And her daughter went to
A prep school.

But she was my mother’s friend.

My classmates thought
My father was rich,
Because he picked us up
In different cars.
But none of them were his.
His boss at the car rental
Was a kind man.

The economy
Stopped liking us.
And suddenly we were poor
For real.
After a while we split up
And moved away
For the sake of opportunity.

I don’t think we’re rich now,
Though we live
Where rich people do,
But it’s not as bad
As before.
My heart just isn’t as full.

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/18/daily-prompt-west-end-girls/

One thought on “Society”

Leave a Reply

