There Are Worse Things Than Yesterday

“There are worse things than yesterday.”

I don’t think I heard it right, but that’s what I heard, and she was right; whoever she was that said that. There are worse things than yesterday. There is the day before yesterday, there is today, and – worst of all – there’s tomorrow. Tomorrow is definitely worse than yesterday. You don’t know what’s coming. You don’t know what to expect. Yesterday is over. I know what it is and how it happened. But tomorrow is going to come at me right in the face, and I’ll only be able to stare down the double barrel and hope that whoever’s holding the gun doesn’t pull the trigger. I’ve already survived yesterday. I can deal with yesterday. But tomorrow is something else entirely, and all I can do is wait for it to get here.

Leave a Reply

