There are some faces I don’t like to see
Because they remind me of me
When I loved myself,
When I thought there was nothing wrong
With me
And that I was perfectly fine
The way I was.

They smile a bit too happily,
And they walk with their heads
A bit too high,
Like they don’t give a damn
What anybody thinks
Because they’re okay
With who they are.

I envy them a little.
More than a little.
I wish they’d teach me
How to do that.
How to be so confident,
And how not to care
About anyone’s opinion
But my own.

But they must have taken
Expensive private lessons
That I can never afford,
Because how come they can do that
And I can’t?

Leave a Reply

